

# **Recommendation to**

Council Public

### **REPORT NAME**

Annual Appointment of Fire Guardians 2024

### **RECOMMENDATION**

That Council appoint the following personnel as fire guardians for the 2024 fire season as per the Province of Alberta, Forest and Prairie Protection Act, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, Chapter F-19, Section 4:

LEDUC COUNTY FIRE GUARDIANS	FIRE SUPPRESSION
New Sarepta Rural Area	Leduc County Fire Services
Alan Durston & Karen Durston	Keven Lefebvre - Fire Chief
Nisku Rural Area	Fire Marshal
Ron Chamulka	Tylor Bennett - Deputy Fire Chief
On-call fire officer	Roger Anger - Deputy Fire Chief
Millet Rural Area	Ivana Irwin - Deputy Fire Chief
On-call fire officer	Shelley Millar - Platoon Chief
Leduc Rural Area	Stephen Baker - Platoon Chief
On-call fire officer	David Pusch - Platoon Chief
Calmar Rural Area	New Sarepta District
Larry Sendziak	lan Milner, Lt.
Mark & Joe Bendoritis	Jason Ertman, Capt
Betty Glassman & Ron Hepperle	Clayton Fitchner, Capt.
Mike Bott	Nisku District
Ron Patrick	Devin Fleming, Capt.
Thorsby Rural Area	Daniel Soucie, Capt.
Dennis & Bernice Gruniger	Rob Csolle, Capt.
Larry Sendziak	Calmar District
Mark & Joe Bendoritis	Ryan VanLooy, Capt
Vince Halwa	Paul Vanderleest, Capt.
Ron Patrick	Stephen Thomas, Capt.
Warburg Rural Area	Thorsby District
Dwayne Mayr	Sean Cooke, Capt.
County Councillors	Joey Wolf, Lt.
Division 1 - Rick Smith	Brian Buchanan, Lt.
Division 2 - Kelly-Lynn Lewis	Warburg District
Division 3 - Dal Virdi	Neil Filipic, Capt.
Division 4 - Larry Wanchuk	John Wipf, Capt.
Division 5 - Tanni Doblanko	Kaj Jacobson, Capt.
Division 6 - Glenn Belozer	Dale Miller, Capt.
Division 7 - Ray Scobie	Frank Wipf, Capt.
County Manager	Jacob Wipf, Capt.
Duane Coleman	City of Leduc
Fire Administrative Assistant	Bryan Singleton - Fire Chief
Dawn Gavin	Millet District
	Steve Moen - Fire Chief

FIRE SUPPRESSION SUPPORT

Utilities and Road Operations

Raf Tenderenda - Manager, Operations

Shailesh Modak - Manager, Utilities

Derek Wilkins - Team Lead, Utilities

Agricultural Services (Tech support)

Garett Broadbent - Director

Aaron Van Beers - Manager

Nathanael Berg - Coordinator

Enforcement Services

Clarence Nelson - Directror/Community Peace Officer

Andy Patterson - Community Peace Officer

Greg Barker - Community Peace Officer

Mitch Knudson - Community Peace Officer

Victor Mahoney - Community Peace Officer

Submitted by: Dawn Gavin, Administrative Assistant

Date: 03/26/24

Approved by: Fire Services / Keven Lefebvre, ECFO, Fire Chief



## **Recommendation to**

Council Public

### **IMPLICATIONS**

**Reason:** Each year the council of the municipal district shall appoint, for a term not exceeding one year with effect from the beginning of March, a sufficient number of fire guardians to enforce this Act within the boundaries of the municipal district. The chief elected official, each councillor and the chief administrative officer are by virtue of their offices fire guardians in and for the municipal district.

**Authority:** (MGA section/bylaw/policy number): Province of Alberta, Forest and Prairie Protection Act, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, Chapter F-19, Current as of December 09, 2016.

Amount of funding required: \$0

Funding source: N/A

### **BACKGROUND**

All the fire guardians that have been appointed by Council have the power to administer the Act, however there are certain fire guardians that have been appointed for fire suppression, fire suppression support, enforcement and technical support.

The reason for the other designations is to allow for the municipal government to administer the Act in the event of an emergency.

There are 14 residents, 7 Councilor's, 1 County Manager, 27 Fire Services, 5 Enforcement, 3 Public Works, 3 Agricultural Services and 1 Fire Administrative support staff. That is a total of 61.

#### **ATTACHMENTS**

None

Submitted by: Dawn Gavin, Administrative Assistant

Date: 03/26/24

Approved by: Fire Services / Keven Lefebvre, ECFO, Fire Chief