

Regular Council Meeting Minutes

February 25, 2025 Council Chamber - Leduc County Centre, Nisku, AB

Council Present: Mayor Tanni Doblanko

Councillor Rick Smith
Councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis

Councillor Dal Virdi Councillor Glenn Belozer Councillor Ray Scobie

Council Absent: Councillor Larry Wanchuk

Staff Present: Duane Coleman, County Manager

Renee Klimosko, Deputy County Manager

Alan Grayston, General Manager - Development and Community Services

Lisa Brown, Legislative Coordinator

Miranda Anderson, Executive Assistant - Council

1. Call to Order - 1:30 p.m.

Mayor Doblanko called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

2. Agenda adoption - February 25, 2025 Regular Council Meeting

Resolution No. 28-25

Mover: Councillor Lewis

That the agenda for the February 25, 2025 Regular Council Meeting be adopted as presented.

Carried Unanimously

3. Adoption of previous minutes

Resolution No. 29-25

Mover: Councillor Virdi

That the January 28, 2025 Regular Council Meeting minutes be adopted as presented.

Carried Unanimously

4. Presentations

a. Deputy Mayor - Oath of Office

Councillor Scobie took Oath of Office for Deputy Mayor from February 28, 2025 to October 28, 2025.

b. Public

There was no one in attendance to provide a public presentation.

5. Department reports/recommendations

- a. 1:35 p.m. Parks and Recreation
- 5.a.1 PR-02 Park Naming Policy

Resolution No. 30-25

Mover: Councillor Lewis

That Council approves policy PR-02 - Parks Naming as presented.

Carried Unanimously

b. 1:40 p.m. - Family and Community Support Services

5.b.1 2025 Seniors Grant Funding

Resolution No. 31-25

Mover: Councillor Belozer

That Council approves the 2025 seniors funding allocations of \$11,840 and authorizes administration to approve funding agreements for the remaining \$3,160 as projects and partners are identified in 2025.

Carried Unanimously

c. 1:55 p.m. - Engineering

5.c.1 2025 Road Program results

Resolution No. 32-25

Mover: Mayor Doblanko

That Council directs administration to add the portion of Glen Park Road between Range Road 251 and the Queen Elizabeth II Highway to the 2025 Road Program for a value of \$1,400,690, with funding by debenture borrowing.

Carried Unanimously

d. 2:10 p.m. - Road Operations

5.d.1 2025 Fees and Charges Bylaw 05-25

Resolution No. 33-25

Mover: Councillor Belozer

That Council gives first reading to Fees and Charges Bylaw 05-25 for revision of the 2025 dust control fees as presented.

Carried Unanimously

Resolution No. 34-25

Mover: Councillor Smith

That Council gives second reading to Bylaw 05-25.

Carried Unanimously

Resolution No. 35-25

Mover: Councillor Scobie

That Bylaw 05-25 be given third reading by unanimous consent of the Council members present.

Carried Unanimously

Resolution No. 36-25

Mover: Councillor Lewis

That Council gives third and final reading to Bylaw 05-25.

Carried Unanimously

e. 2:20 p.m. - Finance

5.e.1 2024 year-end - 2024 carry-forward approvals

Resolution No. 37-25

Mover: Councillor Virdi

That Council approves 29 projects from 2024, with a total value of \$5,966,500, to be carried forward to the 2025 budget.

Carried Unanimously

Resolution No. 38-25

Mover: Councillor Virdi

That Council approves the year-end transfer of \$2,148,241 to reserves, as follows:

- \$1,631,251 for 29 carry-forward projects to be completed in 2025.
- \$411,990 to the Asset Lifecycle Management Reserve for fleet replacements.
- \$75,000 to a reserve for a marketing strategy project.
- \$30,000 to a reserve for the asset management program.

Carried Unanimously

5.e.2 2024 year-end - utility reconciliations

Resolution No. 39-25

Mover: Councillor Lewis

That Council approves the 2024 year-end financial transactions required as follows:

Year-end utility approval of transactions

- a. Water: Total of \$1,605,339 contribution to reserves, broken down as follows:
 - i. Contribution to operating rate stabilization reserve of \$27,265.
 - ii. Contribution to operating, repair and replacement reserve of \$10,466.
 - iii. Contribution to capital repair and replacement reserve of \$1,567,608.
- b. Wastewater: Total of \$634,042 contribution to reserves, broken down as follows:
 - i. Contribution to the capital repair and replacement reserve of \$270,315.
 - ii. Contribution to the operating wastewater collection rate stabilization reserve of \$18,036.
 - iii. Contribution to the operating wastewater collection operating, repair and replacement reserve of \$69,090.

- iv. Contribution to the capital Nisku Transfer Station (Septage Receiving Station) repair and replacement reserve of \$11,068.
- v. Contribution to the operating Nisku Transfer Station (Septage Receiving Station) rate stabilization reserve of \$74,739.
- vi. Contribution to the operating Nisku Transfer Station (Septage Receiving Station) operating, repair and replacement reserve of \$63,217.
- vii. Contribution to the capital Lagoons repair and replacement reserve of \$12,292.
- viii. Contribution to the operating Lagoons rate stabilization reserve of \$60,918.
- ix. Contribution to the operating Lagoons operating, repair and replacement reserve of \$54,367.
- c. Solid waste curbside pickup Contribution to operating rate stabilization reserve of \$48,500.

Carried Unanimously

f. 2:40 p.m. - Protective Services

5.f.1 2025 Appointment of Fire Guardians

Resolution No. 40-25

Mover: Mayor Doblanko

That Council appoints the following personnel as fire guardians for the 2025 fire season as per the Province of Alberta, Forest and Prairie Protection Act, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, Chapter F-19, section 4:

LEDUC COUNTY FIRE GUARDIANS	
Public Fire Guardians	Fire Services
Alan Durston & Karen Durston	Cory Heggart, Fire Marshal
Mark & Joe Bendoritis	Tylor Bennett, Director, Protective Services
Betty Glassman & Ron Hepperle	Roger Anger, Deputy Fire Chief
Mike Bott	Ivana Irwin, Deputy Fire Chief
Ron Patrick	Shelley Millar
Vince Halwa	Stephen Baker
Dwayne Mayr	David Pusch
County Councillors	Randy Parnell
Division 1, Rick Smith	Enforcement
Division 2, Kelly-Lynn Lewis	Clarence Nelson, Manager, Enforcement
Division 3, Dal Virdi	Andy Patterson, Community Peace Officer
Division 4, Larry Wanchuk	Greg Barker, Community Peace Officer
Division 5, Tanni Doblanko	Mitch Knudson, Community Peace Officer
Division 6, Glenn Belozer	Victor Mahoney, Community Peace Officer
Division 7, Ray Scobie	Agriculture Services
County Manager	Garett Broadbent, Director
Duane Coleman	Aaron Van Beers, Manager
	Administrative Assistant
	Dawn Gavin
	Colleen Day

Carried Unanimously

5.f.2 2025 Municipal Emergency Management Plan review

Resolution No. 41-25

Mover: Councillor Scobie

That Council accepts the Leduc County Emergency Management program and Alberta Emergency Management Agency (AEMA) annual report as information.

Carried Unanimously

Resolution No. 42-25

Mover: Councillor Smith

That Council approves the Leduc County Emergency Management Agency yearend report as

presented.

Carried Unanimously

6. Adjournment

Mayor Doblanko adjourned the meeting at 2:20 p.m.

Mayor County Manager