

REPORT NAME

Annual Appointment of Fire Guardians 2025

RECOMMENDATION

That Council appoints the following personnel as fire guardians for the 2025 fire season as per the Province of Alberta, Forest and Prairie Protection Act, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, Chapter F-19, section 4:

LEDUC COUNTY FIRE GUARDIANS	
Public Fire Guardians	Fire Services
Alan Durston & Karen Durston	Cory Heggart, Fire Marshal
Mark & Joe Bendoritis	Tylor Bennett, Director, Protective Services
Betty Glassman & Ron Hepperle	Roger Anger, Deputy Fire Chief
Mike Bott	Ivana Irwin, Deputy Fire Chief
Ron Patrick	Shelley Millar
Vince Halwa	Stephen Baker
Dwayne Mayr	David Pusch
County Councillors	Randy Parnell
Division 1, Rick Smith	Enforcement
Division 2, Kelly-Lynn Lewis	Clarence Nelson, Manager, Enforcement
Division 3, Dal Virdi	Andy Patterson, Community Peace Officer
Division 4, Larry Wanchuk	Greg Barker, Community Peace Officer
Division 5, Tanni Doblanko	Mitch Knudson, Community Peace Officer
Division 6, Glenn Belozer	Victor Mahoney, Community Peace Officer
Division 7, Ray Scobie	Agriculture Services
County Manager	Garett Broadbent, Director
Duane Coleman	Aaron Van Beers, Manager
	Administrative Assistant
	Dawn Gavin
	Colleen Day

IMPLICATIONS

Reason: Council annually appoints an appropriate number of fire guardians to support our burn permit program that promotes safe burning within Leduc County.

Authority: (*MGA section/bylaw/policy number*): *Province of Alberta, Forest and Prairie Protection Act*, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, Chapter F-19, Current as of December 09, 2016.

Amount of funding required: n/a

Funding source: n/a



BACKGROUND

In Alberta, the appointment of a sufficient number of fire guardians by the council of a rural municipality is driven by the need to manage and control the risks associated with controlled burns.

Fire guardians are individuals, as noted in the *Forest and Prairie Protection Act*, who are tasked with enforcing this Act within Leduc County boundaries for a term not exceeding a year.

The Act also declares that the chief elected official, each councilor and the chief administrative officer are by virtue of their offices fire guardians in the rural municipality.

ATTACHMENTS

n/a